Acting Gov. Oliver announces 37 grant awards to N.J. communities

Michael Ein Lt. Gov. Sheila Oliver at the inauguration ceremony.

New Jersey Acting Gov. Sheila Y. Oliver announced Tuesday $2.5 million in Neighborhood Preservation Program grants were awarded to 20 municipalities and nearly $350,000 in Main Street New Jersey grants were given to 17 Main Street district organizations throughout the state.

The grants for both programs, Oliver said, will help improve the quality of life for New Jersey residents by assisting with their downtown and neighborhood revitalization efforts.

This is the first time in its 30-year history that the MSNJ Program has awarded grants to designated MSNJ district organizations around the state, Oliver said. Also, this is the first time in 11 years that the New Jersey Department of Community Affairs has awarded NPP grants.

“We are renewing our commitment to community revitalization and to these worthwhile programs after years of neglect by the previous administration. (Gov. Phil) Murphy and I recognize how important these programs are to the economic and social health of our communities, which is why we have invested significant resources in them,” Oliver, who serves as DCA Commissioner, said. “The grant funding will be used to create places filled with energy and ambiance that draw people to live, work, and visit. We can’t wait to see how they positively impact neighborhoods and downtowns around the state.”

Here are the 2019 NPP grant recipients, all receiving $125,000:

  • Berlin Township, Camden County;
  • Burlington City, Burlington County;
  • Cape May City, Cape May County;
  • East Orange, Essex County;
  • Egg Harbor City, Atlantic County;
  • Elizabeth, Union County;
  • Garfield, Bergen County;
  • Glassboro, Gloucester County;
  • Hammonton, Atlantic County;
  • Keyport, Monmouth County;
  • Millville, Cumberland County;
  • Mount Holly, Burlington County;
  • New Brunswick, Middlesex County;
  • Passaic City, Passaic County;
  • Paterson, Passaic County;
  • Perth Amboy, Middlesex County;
  • Phillipsburg, Warren County;
  • Pleasantville, Atlantic County;
  • Roselle, Union County;
  • Woodbury, Gloucester County.

Here are the 2019 MSNJ grant recipients and the award amount:

  • Bloomfield (Bloomfield Center Alliance), Essex County, $9,750;
  • Boonton (Boonton Main Street), Morris County, $23,000;
  • Bridgeton (Bridgeton Main Street Association), Cumberland County, $17,500;
  • Denville (Downtown Denville BID), Morris County, $25,000;
  • Hammonton (MainStreet Hammonton), Atlantic County, $24,000;
  • Highland Park (Main Street Highland Park), Middlesex County, $25,000;
  • Metuchen (Metuchen Downtown Alliance), Middlesex County, $23,000;
  • Millville (Millville Development Corp.), Cumberland County, $15,000;
  • Montclair (Montclair Center BID), Essex County, $25,000;
  • Mount Holly (Main Street Mount Holly), Burlington County, $20,750;
  • Red Bank (Red Bank River Center), Monmouth County, $13,000;
  • Salem City (Stand Up for Salem), Salem County, $23,000;
  • South Orange (South Orange Village Center Alliance), Essex County, $21,500;
  • Vineland (Vineland Downtown Improvement District), Cumberland County, $20,500;
  • Westfield (Downtown Westfield Corp.), Union County, $20,000;
  • West Orange (Downtown West Orange Alliance), Essex County, $20,250;
  • Woodbury (Main Street Woodbury), Gloucester County, $23,500.