Murphy announces 8 p.m. restrictions on businesses and public gatherings — and discourages travel

The governors of New Jersey, New York and Connecticut announced Monday morning that they have come together to create uniform guidelines for closings that will be enacted in all three states, effective 8 p.m. Monday.

The restrictions:

  • Casinos, gyms, racetracks and movie theaters will be closed until further notice, effective 8 p.m. Monday;
  • Bars and restaurants will close for sit-down eating starting tonight at 8 p.m., in the future, they will be limited to take out and delivery only;
  • All nonessential stores will close nightly at 8 p.m., but are allowed to reopen the following day;
  • Essential stores — grocery stores, pharmacies, gas stations, medical offices — will be allowed to stay open after 8 p.m.

Gov. Phil Murphy said nonessential travel is “strongly discouraged” between 8 p.m. and 5 a.m. — a policy that will remain in effect for the foreseeable future.

In addition, Murphy said all social and public gatherings now will be limited to 50 people.

And it is not clear how these guidelines work with towns in New Jersey that already have established guidelines that are more restrictive than the ones announced by the governors.

Murphy, New York Gov. Andrew Cuomo and Connecticut Gov. Ned Lamont said they came together to present uniform guidelines to prevent people from traveling to one state from another to find regulations that meet their needs.

Murphy said the three governors plan to continue working together on uniform policies — and noted he is also is working regularly with Pennsylvania Gov. Tom Wolf.

Read more from ROI-NJ on coronavirus: