Cooper University Health Care starts 2nd physicians group

    The Cooper University Health Care system announced this week that it has formed a new, community-based physicians group, Cooper Care Alliance.

    The system said three prominent family medicine physicians have joined the CCA: Dr. Carman Ciervo, Dr. Greg Taylor and Dr. Thayalan K. Cumarasamy.

    The CCA physicians will be Cooper employees, but will not have faculty appointments at Cooper Medical School of Rowan University, as physicians in the system’s other physicians group, Cooper University Physicians, do.

    “Many community-based physicians desire the administrative, operations and technology benefits of being affiliated with a large academic health system like Cooper without having all of the academic responsibilities of a full faculty appointment, and that is why we created Cooper Care Alliance,” Dr. Anthony Mazzarelli, Cooper’s co-CEO, said in a prepared statement.

    The 700-member Cooper University Physicians is the largest physicians group in South Jersey. CCA will become the system’s second group.

    “Cooper Care Alliance will enable us to serve more residents in the region and connect with more community-based physicians who are looking to reduce the burden of running their practices, give their patients greater access to expert specialists and join a leading academic health system,” Kevin O’Dowd, Cooper’s other co-CEO, said in a statement.