N.J. adds $5 million to lease assistance grant program

Small businesses in 64 designated municipalities can receive up to $10K to help pay rent

The Small Business Lease – Emergency Assistance Grant Program — which is providing grants of up to $10,000 to small businesses in selected municipalities — received an additional $5 million in funding from the state, Gov. Phil Murphy announced Tuesday.

(A list of the 64 eligible municipalities is below.)

The SBL-EAGP is targeted to businesses with 5,000 square feet of leased space or less — and requires standard debarment and legal qualifications from applying businesses. Applications can be found online, and funds are distributed on a first-come, first-served basis. The application opens at 9 a.m. Feb. 22 and will remain open until the funds are exhausted.

Click here for guidelines on the program.

Through the SBL-EAGP, small businesses located in the 64 legislatively designated municipalities that have been adversely impacted by COVID-19 can apply for up to $10,000 to assist with lease payments. Eligible applicants include:

  • Tenants leasing commercial space in mixed-use buildings;
  • Tenants leasing space in commercial buildings;
  • Tenants leasing space to operate a storefront business.

The program, managed by the New Jersey Redevelopment Authority, is one component of a broader Main Street Commercial Corridors Relief Package paid for with federal CARES Act funding. The NJRA’s CEO, Leslie Anderson, said she is hopeful the program can make a difference.

Lt. Gov. Sheila Oliver, who serves as commissioner of the Department of Community Affairs and board chair of the NJRA, said she was thrilled the state could find additional funding for the program.

“The Small Business Lease – Emergency Assistance Grant program has proven to be a successful lifeline to small businesses in New Jersey during the COVID-19 crisis, and we’re thrilled to announce this additional funding,” she said. “As we’ve seen from the success stories, these grants can mean the difference between a small business having to shutter its doors and lay off employees versus being able to stay open and serve their community through the pandemic. We value our small businesses and must do everything we can to help sustain them through this crisis.”

Anderson agreed.

“While I am optimistic about 2021 and our state’s recovery, the small business community in New Jersey is still reeling from the impact of the ongoing public health emergency,” she said. “It is crucial that we remain aggressive and continue to prioritize small businesses in our recovery efforts, particularly those in communities most severely affected by the crisis.

“At NJRA, impact and outcomes are our primary objectives, and, in Phase 1 of our Small Business Lease – Emergency Assistance Grant Program, we focused heavily on reaching small and microbusinesses that had not received any other funding. We’re immensely proud that we achieved that goal with over 70% of our grant recipients. Nonetheless, I know from the overwhelming response to Phase 1 of our program that many businesses are still struggling, and I am so grateful for Gov. Murphy and Lt. Gov. Sheila Oliver’s leadership and for this critical funding to help meet this urgent need.”

Here is the list of the 64 eligible municipalities:

  1. Asbury Park City
  2. Atlantic City
  3. Bayonne City
  4. Belleville Township
  5. Bergenfield Borough
  6. Bloomfield Township
  7. Brick Township
  8. Bridgeton City
  9. Burlington City
  10. Camden City
  11. Carteret Borough
  12. Clifton City
  13. East Orange City
  14. Elizabeth City
  15. Garfield City
  16. Glassboro Borough
  17. Gloucester City
  18. Gloucester Township
  19. Hackensack City
  20. Harrison Town
  21. Hillside Township
  22. Hoboken City
  23. Irvington Township
  24. Jersey City
  25. Keansburg Borough
  26. Kearny Town
  27. Lakewood Township
  28. Lindenwold Borough
  29. Lodi Borough
  30. Long Branch City
  31. Millville City
  32. Monroe Township (Gloucester)
  33. Montclair Township
  34. Mount Holly Township
  35. Neptune City Borough
  36. Neptune Township
  37. New Brunswick City
  38. Newark City
  39. North Bergen Township
  40. Nutley Township
  41. Old Bridge Township
  42. Orange City
  43. Passaic City
  44. Paterson City
  45. Pemberton Township
  46. Penns Grove Borough
  47. Pennsauken Township
  48. Perth Amboy City
  49. Phillipsburg Town
  50. Plainfield City
  51. Pleasantville City
  52. Rahway City
  53. Roselle Borough
  54. Salem City
  55. Sussex Borough
  56. Trenton City
  57. Union City
  58. Vineland City
  59. Weehawken Township
  60. West New York Town
  61. Willingboro Township
  62. Winslow Township
  63. Woodbridge Township
  64. Woodbury City