7 N.J. hospitals earn Healthgrades honor for third consecutive year

Cooper, HMH-Bayshore, Ocean, Saint Clare’s Denville and Dover, Saint Luke’s Warren and Saint Michael’s are among only 5% so honored

Seven New Jersey hospitals were given Healthgrades’ Patient Safety Excellence Award for the third consecutive year, the organization announced.

Healthgrades said the award, given out since 2019, recognizes hospitals in the Top 10% in the nation for patient safety — with the lowest occurrences of 14 preventable patient safety events (see methodology here).

Only 5% of the nation’s hospitals have been recognized for all three years.

Here are the seven hospitals in New Jersey so honored:

  • Cooper University Hospital;
  • Hackensack Meridian Bayshore Medical Center;
  • Ocean Medical Center (Brick);
  • Saint Clare’s Denville Hospital;
  • Saint Clare’s Dover Hospital;
  • Luke’s – Warren Campus (Phillipsburg);
  • Saint Michael’s Medical Center (Newark).

Seven other hospitals were honored for a second time in 2021:

  • Chilton Medical Center;
  • Englewood Hospital;
  • Jersey Shore University Medical Center (Neptune);
  • Newark Beth Israel Medical Center;
  • Newton Medical Center;
  • RWJ University Hospital – Somerset;
  • Mary’s General Hospital (Passaic).

Hackensack University Medical Center and Salem Medical Center were honored for the first time.

Healthgrades found that patients treated in hospitals receiving the Healthgrades 2021 Patient Safety Excellence Award were, on average:

  • 50.3% less likely to experience a collapsed lung due to a procedure or surgery in or around the chest, than patients treated at nonrecipient hospitals;
  • 60.3% less likely to experience an in-hospital fall resulting in hip fracture, than patients treated at nonrecipient hospitals;
  • 66.5% less likely to experience pressure sores or bed sores acquired in the hospital, than patients treated at nonrecipient hospitals;
  • 65.4% less likely to experience catheter-related bloodstream infections acquired in the hospital, than patients treated at nonrecipient hospitals.

Cooper University Health Care co-CEOs Kevin O’Dowd and Anthony Mazzarelli credited the staff for the hospital’s success.

“Earning the Patient Safety Excellence Award three years in a row is an outstanding achievement by our team, which demonstrates Cooper’s commitment and success in delivering the safest and most effective medical care to our patients,” O’Dowd said.

“As a leading academic health system in the region, our entire team is committed to providing advanced, safe care to our patients, and earning this award three years in a row demonstrates to our patients that they can trust Cooper for safe and effective health care,” Mazzarelli said.