Baraka appointed to serve on Local Government Advisory Committee by EPA

File photo Newark Mayor Ras Baraka.

Newark Mayor Ras Baraka was among 39 government leaders from around the country asked to serve on the Local Government Advisory Committee of the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency, EPA Administrator Michael Regan announced.

The 39-member LGAC will include 20 women, 16 people of color and representation from 30 different states, tribal nations and U.S. territories, representing a diverse cross-section of cities, counties, towns and communities across the U.S.

Chartered in 1993 under the Federal Advisory Committee Act, the LGAC provides independent policy advice to the EPA administrator on a broad range of issues affecting local governments.

Baraka, who is one of 34 first-time selections, said he appreciated the invite.

“I am grateful for the honor to work alongside my colleagues from across the country in solidarity with EPA Administrator Regan on critical environmental issues impacting local governments,” he said. “Newarkers have been working tirelessly for many decades to combat environmental injustice and ensure public health protections for our residents.”

Baraka said leaders everywhere need to come together on the issues. Others in the region include Neil O’Leary (mayor, Waterbury, Connecticut), Katherine Gilmore Richardson (councilmember, Philadelphia) and Michael Scuse (secretary of agriculture, Delaware).

“I believe environmental challenges should not and cannot be addressed in isolation from the other urgent matters affecting U.S. cities,” Baraka said. “As such, I am especially looking forward to working with President (Joe) Biden’s administration to advance its key priorities, including bold action to protect families from COVID-19, provide economic relief to American citizens, address our nation’s infrastructure challenges, tackle climate change and advance racial equity and civil rights.”

The committee’s first meeting will be planned for this fall.

Appointments to the LGAC include:

  • Leirion Gaylor Baird, mayor, Lincoln, Nebraska (Chair)
  • Ras Baraka, mayor, Newark, New Jersey
  • James Brainard, mayor, Carmel, Indiana
  • Gary Brown, director of Water and Sewerage Department, Detroit
  • Deborah Cherry, treasurer, Genesee County, Michigan
  • Melissa Cribbins, commissioner, Coos County, Oregon*
  • José Carlos Aponte Dalmau, mayor, Carol̒ina, Puerto Rico*
  • Megan Dunn, councilmember, Snohomish County, Washington
  • Mark Fox, chairman, Mandan, Hidatsa, and Arikara Nations, New Town, North Dakota*
  • Brian Fulton, county administrator, Jackson County, Mississippi*
  • Nick Gradisar, mayor, Pueblo, Colorado
  • Evan Hansen, House delegate, State of West Virginia*
  • Chad Harsha, secretary of natural resources, Cherokee Nation
  • Zane Hedgecock, mayor pro tem, Wallburg, North Carolina
  • Deana Holiday Ingraham, mayor, East Point, Georgia
  • Ella Jones, mayor, Ferguson, Missouri
  • Kelly King, councilmember, Maui County, Hawaii
  • Christine Lowery, commissioner, Cibola County, New Mexico
  • Rachel May, state senator, Syracuse, New York
  • Melissa McKinlay, commissioner, Palm Beach County, Florida
  • Julian McTizic, mayor, Bolivar, Tennessee
  • Alex Morse, town manager, Provincetown, Massachusetts
  • Douglas Nicholls, mayor, Yuma, Arizona
  • Ron Nirenberg, mayor, San Antonio, Texas
  • Neil O’Leary, mayor, Waterbury, Connecticut
  • Deborah Raphael, director, Environmental Department, San Francisco
  • Satya Rhodes-Conway, mayor, Madison, Wisconsin
  • Katherine Gilmore Richardson, councilmember, Philadelphia
  • Deborah Robertson, mayor, Rialto, California
  • Michael Scuse, secretary of agriculture, state of Delaware
  • Valinda Shirley, executive director, EPA, Navajo Nation
  • Sylvester Turner, mayor, Houston
  • Lucy Vinis, mayor, Eugene, Oregon
  • Lisa Wong, town manager, Winchester, Massachusetts*

* Indicates reappointment