Cape May County’s Hayes named Commissioner of the Year

Cape May County Commissioner Marie Hayes was honored with the Maurice Fitzgibbons County Commissioner of the Year award last week in Atlantic City at the New Jersey Association of Counties’ annual celebration.

Executive Director John Donnadio said Hayes was the perfect choice for the award, which has been given out annually since 2011.

“Commissioner Hayes is a remarkable person who successfully navigated the association through some very difficult days during the COVID-19 public health crisis,” he said. “She is a caring, thoughtful and decisive leader who is admired and respected across the state and on both sides of the aisle.”

The award honors the county commissioner who champions county government and enthusiastically supports the association over and above their normal course of duties. The award is presented in honor of former Hudson County Freeholder Maurice Fitzgibbons, who laid the foundation for the association’s growth over the past decade and died in 2011.

Other honorees at the event include:

  • County Commissioner Hall of Fame inductee: John Risley, Atlantic County commissioner
  • NJAC Board Member Lifetime Achievement Award: Ann Cannon, Mercer County commissioner
  • County Administrator Lifetime Achievement Award: Abraham Antun, Hudson County
  • County service awards:
    • Daniel Regenye, public health coordinator, Ocean County
    • Charlene Gungil, health office and director, Passaic County
    • David DeWoody, purchasing agent, Cumberland County
    • Walter Lane, director of planning, Somerset County
    • Marygrace Billek, director of human services, Mercer County
  • Peter Palmer Business Associate of the Year Award: Genova Burns LLC