Johnson & Johnson appoints senior leaders to executive committee

Johnson & Johnson's current log on display.

Johnson & Johnson appointed several senior leaders to the company’s Executive Committee, according to a Thursday announcement. Separately, the company announced that Michael Sneed, executive vice president, global corporate affairs, and chief communication officer, will be retiring on April 1.

As previously announced, Alex Gorsky will serve as executive chairman of Johnson & Johnson and transition the CEO role to Joaquin Duato, currently vice chairman of the company’s Executive Committee, effective Jan. 3. From that time, all members of the Executive Committee will report to Duato.

The new Executive Committee appointments are as follows:

  • Vanessa Broadhurst, company group chairman, global commercial strategy organization, has been appointed executive vice president, global corporate affairs.
  • Bill Hait, global head of Johnson & Johnson External Innovation, has been appointed executive vice president, chief external innovation, medical safety and global public health officer.
  • Mathai Mammen, global head of research & development at the Janssen Pharmaceutical Cos. of Johnson & Johnson, has been appointed executive vice president, pharmaceuticals, R&D.
  • James “Jim” Swanson, chief information officer, has been appointed executive vice president, chief information officer.

Duato said: “I am thrilled to appoint this group of dynamic and experienced leaders to Johnson & Johnson’s Executive Committee. Each represents a high level of dedication to our mission, as well as proven track records of strategic thinking, strong execution and Credo-based leadership. As a whole, they are representative of the deep bench of talent we see at every level of our organization, as well as the tremendous opportunity ahead for Johnson & Johnson as we enter a new and exciting chapter.”

Duato continued: “At the same time, I want to extend my warmest wishes and congratulations to my friend and colleague Michael Sneed on his retirement. Since joining the Johnson & Johnson team more than 38 years ago, Michael has been the company’s tireless champion in amplifying our vision, values and success. On behalf of the entire board and executive committee, I thank Michael for his extraordinary leadership and work in cultivating a unique company culture.”

Dr. Peter Fasolo, executive vice president, chief human resources officer; Ashley McEvoy, executive vice president, worldwide chairman, med tech; Thibaut Mongon, executive vice president, worldwide chairman, consumer health; Jennifer Taubert, executive vice president, worldwide chairman, pharmaceuticals; Michael Ullmann, executive vice president, general counsel; Kathy Wengel, executive vice president, chief global supply chain officer; and Joseph Wolk, executive vice president, chief financial officer, will remain on the Executive Committee.

As previously announced, Paul Stoffels, vice chairman of the executive committee and chief scientific officer, will retire from the company effective Dec. 31.