8 N.J. medical centers earn prestigious ‘Top Hospital’ award from Leapfrog Group

Eight hospitals in New Jersey were among 115 nationwide to be named a “Top Hospital” by the Leapfrog Group — the national nonprofit organization driving a movement for giant leaps forward in the quality and safety of American health care.

Leapfrog, which releases a graded list of all hospitals twice a year, selects a number for its annual Top Hospital Award.

To qualify for the Top Hospital award, hospitals must excel among their peers on the Leapfrog Hospital Survey, which assesses performance based on quality and patient safety metrics such as infection rates, practices for safer surgery, maternity care and the hospital’s capacity to prevent medication errors.

Hospitals are selected for one of four categories: General hospitals, children’s hospitals, rural hospitals and teaching hospitals.

There is no set number of honorees. Leapfrog officials said they honor all that meet their high standard.

Here are the hospitals in New Jersey to be so honored:

General hospitals

  • Chilton Medical Center
  • Hackensack Meridian Bayshore Medical Center
  • Hudson Regional Hospital

Teaching hospitals

  • Bergen New Bridge Medical Center
  • Englewood Hospital and Medical Center
  • Hackensack Meridian Palisades Medical Center
  • Morristown Medical Center
  • Luke’s Warren Campus

Leapfrog also honored a number of Top Ambulatory Surgery Centers — but no New Jersey-based ASCs made the list.

Top Hospitals and Top ASCs will be honored Tuesday night at the 2022 Leapfrog Annual Meeting and Awards Dinner in Washington, D.C.

“This is an incredible achievement that every one of these hospitals and ASCs should be celebrating,” Leapfrog CEO Leah Binder said.

“Congratulations to their clinicians, leadership and staff for putting patients first.”

Englewood Health, which was named a Top Teaching Hospital for the fifth time, was thrilled to be honored.

“We are excited to announce our designation as a Top Teaching Hospital,” CEO Warren Geller said. “This award reflects the commitment to safety and high-quality care from all members of our team, including trustees, physicians, leaders and staff at all levels.”