CarePoint Health honors HUMC physicians with Wallace T. McCaffrey Award

CarePoint Health System presented six doctors from Hoboken University Medical Center with the Wallace T. McCaffrey Award recently, which is annually given to members of the HUMC medical staff who exemplify leadership, compassion and commitment with distinguished service to their patients and Hoboken University Medical Center.

Drs. Richard Boiardo, Syed Shah-Gibilisco, Joseph Jim Yap, Ricardo Binsol, Abraham Wenger and Jocelyn Lim were the recipients of this year’s McCaffrey Award.

“CarePoint and Hoboken University Medical Center are successful because we practice highly personalized care, and these doctors represent the very best of the CarePoint Health System,” CarePoint CEO and President Dr. Achintya Moulick said. “This year’s honorees embody all of the characteristics that we look for when selecting McCaffrey Award recipients and have all proven that they possess deep dedication to their patients, precisional leadership skills and a commitment to our hospital system. I am deeply grateful to have such distinguished and devoted physicians working with us to bring patient-centered and empathetic care to the people of Hudson County.”

The award is named after Dr. Wallace T. McCaffrey, a general internal medicine specialist who was on the medical staff of Hoboken University Medical Center for 60 years. McCaffrey was known and respected for his empathy and devotion to both his patients and Hoboken University Medical Center as a whole — constantly going above his required duties to serve on several hospital committees, mentor younger physicians and even serving as vice president of medical affairs for the last 10 years of his career.

To honor his deep level of dedication, McCaffrey was awarded a lifetime appreciation award and made the namesake for the yearly award given to outstanding physicians who demonstrate similar commitment to providing exemplary care to their patients and are helping to mold the future of Hoboken University Medical Center.