Cooperman Barnabas Medical Center inducts new medical staff leadership

The more than 1,700 attending physicians at Cooperman Barnabas Medical Center recently elected leaders among the group to serve two-year terms as medical staff officers.

Inducted at the Quarterly Medical Staff Meeting in March were Dr. Michael Addis, who will serve as medical staff president, as well as Dr. John Shumko, first vice president; Dr. Alison Grann, second vice president; Dr. Michael LaSalle, secretary; and Dr. Joel Braverman, treasurer.

“Led by Dr. Michael Addis, our new medical staff officers are integral to collaborating with our diverse roster of physicians to carry out our mission of compassionate care, health care excellence and superior service,” Richard L. Davis, CEO and president at Cooperman Barnabas Medical Center, said. “Their proven leadership and vision will continue to help expand pathways to outstanding care for our patients and their families.”

Newly elected President Addis is a board-certified vascular surgeon and clinical chairperson for the Department of Surgery at CBMC. He has a special interest in endovascular treatment of abdominal and thoracic disease, hemodialysis access and peripheral vascular disease. He has presented this topic at various symposia and is currently serving as vice president of the New Jersey Vascular Society. Peers have also voted him “Top Doc in New Jersey” for 14 consecutive years.

Shumko is a board-certified physical medicine and rehabilitation specialist with diverse medical expertise in the areas of musculoskeletal and spine disorders. Presently practicing at New Jersey Spine Center in Chatham, he diagnoses and treats patients with spine and muscle/joint pain, sports injuries, ambulatory/balance issues and arthritic conditions.

Grann is also the chair of the Department of Radiation Oncology at CBMC and northern regional director of radiation oncology network integration and quality for RWJBarnabas Health. She holds a dual appointment at Rutgers Robert Wood Johnson Medical School and is a board-certified radiation oncologist specializing in the treatment and research of breast cancer, brain tumors and prostate cancer. She is also a member of the CBMC board of trustees.

LaSalle is a clinical assistant professor of urology/surgery at the University of Medicine and Dentistry of New Jersey in Newark as well as a practicing urologic surgeon in Livingston.

Braverman, a board-certified anesthesiologist, critical care specialist and fellowship-trained cardiac anesthesiologist, was named chair of the Department of Anesthesiology at CBMC in 2022, previously having served as section chief of cardiac anesthesia since 2015. He has been integral with the recent in-sourcing and restructuring efforts within the Department of Anesthesiology.