American Water announces recipients of 2023 LaFrankie Scholarship Awards

Honors 8 students nationwide for scholastic achievement

Camden-based American Water recently announced the recipients of its annual James V. LaFrankie Scholarship Awards. The awards were distributed nationwide to eight college-bound students who are relatives of full-time American Water employees, who demonstrate an interest in science and water-related industry occupational fields.

Out of 53 submitted applications, an independent, third-party organization selected eight high school seniors based on their outstanding records, academic honors, participation in extracurricular activities and teacher recommendations. The $1,000 scholarship is awarded for one year and may be renewed for up to three years based on the student’s academic progress.

Below are the eight scholarship award recipients and American Water employees:

  • Zoe Jarvis: Jonathan Jarvis, manager, water quality and environmental compliance, West Virginia American Water;
  • Holly McGee: Kristina McGee, director, engineering, Virginia American Water and Maryland American Water;
  • Elijah Pawelek: Barry Pawelek, senior manager, external communications, American Water;
  • Eleanor Schuler: Ryan Schuler, manager, water quality and environmental compliance, Illinois American Water;
  • Gabriela Shulman: Dorothy Baiocco-Shulman, specialist, operations, American Water Contract Services Group;
  • Bryson Sutton: Tyronne Sutton, wastewater operator, Missouri American Water;
  • Kaylee Wilson: Brandon Wilson, field service representative, Tennessee American Water;
  • Michael Yang: Jian Yang, manager, engineering, American Water.

The American Water board of directors established the scholarship program in 1991 in honor of former American Water President James V. LaFrankie, who demonstrated the value he placed on college education by earning a degree at Georgetown University night school while working days at the Alexandria Virginia Water Co., now known as Virginia American Water. After that, LaFrankie excelled, climbing the ladder to increasingly responsible positions over his 44-year career with American Water, retiring as the company’s president in 1991.