ETS names new Lord Chair in Measurement and Statistics

Daniel McCaffrey will help advance the fields of statistics and psychometrics

Daniel McCaffrey has been appointed as Princeton-based ETS‘ Frederic M. Lord Chair in Measurement and Statistics. In his new role, McCaffrey will serve as a leading voice in psychometrics and statistics and help to advance the evolution of assessment science and practice.

McCaffrey will serve as the third ETS Lord Chair, succeeding Robert Mislevy (2010–2021) and Paul Holland (2000–2006).

“Dan’s record of achievement, impact and character embody the spirit of ETS’ Lord Chair in Measurement and Statistics,” ETS CEO Amit Sevak said. “I know he will have a pivotal role in shaping the future of assessment.”

“For the past 10 years, Dan has been a distinguished voice for ETS’ statistical and psychometric research programs,” Kadriye Ercikan, vice president of research at ETS, said. “He has made significant contributions to ETS’ teacher evaluations, causal models and has been at the helm of psychometric and data analysis testing programs and large-scale assessment contracts. I can think of no one more deserving than Dan to receive this prestigious recognition.”

In 2000, the ETS board of trustees established the Lord Chair to honor ETS psychometrician Frederic M. Lord for his vast contributions to the fields of statistics and psychometrics.

“We’re working to reimagine a new paradigm of assessment to provide actionable insights in teaching and learning,” said McCaffrey. “I am excited to stand at the intersection of this innovative work and am dedicated to developing the future direction of psychometrics, measurement and statistics.”

McCaffrey joined ETS in 2013 as a principal research scientist in the Research & Development Psychometrics, Statistics and Data Sciences Division, and led the Psychometric Analysis and Research unit from 2017 to 2023. Prior to his tenure at ETS, he was a statistical thought leader and expert at RAND Corp., where he served as PNC Chair in Policy and Analysis and head of the Statistics Group.