Morris Educational Foundation awards scholarships totaling $359K to Morristown High School seniors

closeup of a mini graduation cap on cash

The Morris Educational Foundation said it awarded over $359,000 in scholarships to 26 outstanding Morristown High School seniors to support their academic pursuits. The MEF, a nonprofit organization enhancing excellence in education in the Morris School District, honored the deserving students and its generous donors during the high school’s scholarship award night June 13.

The MEF has generous donors, many of whom are alumni of Morristown High School, who have invested in the future of Morris School District students. Twenty-six students received scholarships ranging from $1,000 to $100,000. Two students received full-ride scholarships to attend New Jersey state universities thanks to the generous Steinberg Family (Robert Steinberg – Class of 1969, Julian Steinberg – Class of 1973 and Andy Steinberg – Class of 1975) who funded two Judy and Eliot Steinberg Scholarships in honor of their parents.

“We are honored to award scholarships to 26 outstanding Morristown High School seniors,” Molly Servais, Morris Educational Foundation scholarship chair and member of the Morris Educational Foundation board of trustees, said. “They have all demonstrated determination to achieve success. It is inspiring to help them pursue the next chapter of their academic careers through the continued generosity of our amazing scholarship donors. We look forward to following their future successes.”

The Morris Educational Foundation’s 2023 scholarship recipients are:

  • Judy and Eliot Steinberg Scholarship, up to $100,000 (up to $25,000 annually for four years): Presented to Katherine Chiqui Zumba and Quinisha St. Agathe, who will attend The College of New Jersey and study psychology and biology, respectively.
  • Clifford Starrett Scholarship, $80,000 ($20,000 annually for four years): Awarded to Julia Rahmeier, who intends to pursue technology and design at Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute.
  • Wong Family Scholarship, $24,000 ($6,000 annually for four years): A merit-based scholarship awarded to Jordan Dickman, who’s attending the University of Pennsylvania as a biochemistry major.
  • George and Michele Becker Scholarship, $12,000 ($3,000 annually for four years): Awarded to Philip Byrne as an aerospace science major at Embry-Riddle Aeronautical University.
  • Stephen B. Wiley Scholarship, $8,000 ($4,000 annually for two years): Presented to Valencia Julien for demonstrating community-minded leadership both inside and outside of school; she will attend Temple University to major in criminal justice.
  • Capt. Brian J. McNally USMC Scholarship, $5,000 ($1,000 per year for three years and $2,000 for the fourth year): Given to Abigail Studer, for demonstrating dedicated community service; she will pursue a nursing degree at Bloomsburg University.
  • Javier Avelar Scholarship, $5,000: Presented to Nayeli Perez, a first-generation student who plans to pursue computer engineering at Syracuse University.
  • Dorothy F. Johnson Scholarship, $3,500 ($1,750 annually for two years): Awarded to Shiven Joshi, who intends to study finance at Rutgers University.
  • Spring Brook Foundation Scholarship, $3,000: Given to Hannah Riano, for demonstrating service to the community; she will attend Rutgers University.
  • James B. Galbraith Jr. Scholarship, $2,000: Awarded to Ricardo Nulman, who plans to study biomedical engineering at Duke University, and Abigail Studer, who will pursue a nursing degree at Bloomsburg University.
  • Class of ’79 Morris 8 Scholarship, $1,979: Given to Aidan Hyer, who will attend Boston University and study mechanical engineering.
  • Mary Bentzlin Scholarship, $1,500: Awarded to Allison Forsell, who will attend Lafayette College as a biology major with a goal towards public service.
  • Morristown High School Class of 2020 Resilience Scholarship, $1,500: Awarded to Emma Fairbourne, who will be attending Washington State University to pursue criminology.
  • Morristown Distinguished Wrestler Scholarship, $1,500: Presented to Robert Murphy, who plans to study criminology at the University of North Carolina – Wilmington.
  • John T. Cunningham Scholarship, $1,250: Given to Matthew McDonald as he pursues an intended double major in international economics and global affairs at the University of Notre Dame.
  • Bruce Chamberlain Scholarship, $1,000: Presented to Ashley Gregor, who plans to study nursing and public health at Georgetown University.
  • Douenias Family Scholarship for Scholar Athletes, $1,000: Given to Catherine Gaynor, who will be attending the University of Wisconsin – Madison.
  • The Ferrara-Myers Grandparents Scholarship, $1,000: Presented to Alexia Kallis, who will attend the University of Vermont to pursue a career as an elementary school teacher.
  • Hess-Mulcahy Scholarship, $1,000: Given to Fabio Campos, who plans to study mechanical engineering at Carnegie Mellon University.
  • William Darell Johnson “Let’s Get It Going!” Memorial Scholarship, $1,000: Presented to Christian Clark-Stokes, who will be attending Walsh University as an anthropology major.
  • Ruth Marantz Cohen French Award, $1,000: Given to Nerlande Solage, who is pursuing degrees in pharmacy and French at Rutgers University.
  • Morristown Animal Hospital Animal Welfare Scholarship, $1,000: Awarded to Micaela Cassidy, who will attend the University of Wisconsin to pursue psychology and Asian studies.
  • Coach Gil Shaffer Scholarship, $1,000: Given to Mateo Baracaldo, who plans to study finance at Florida State University.
  • Shirley Shalit Scholarship, $1,000: Presented to Michael “M.J.” King, who will study film and creative at Seton Hall University.

Scholarship donors, students and their families celebrated their scholarship awards at a breakfast reception sponsored by the MEF on June 16.