Novartis’ Ruegger named new chair of R&D Council

Dr. Colleen Ruegger, executive director, technical research & development at Novartis, was named the new chair of the Research & Development Council of New Jersey, it was announced Wednesday.

Ruegger has been a dedicated member of the council’s board of directors, serving as the Novartis representative, and most recently serving as the board’s secretary.

She said she was honored to assume the role, which runs until 2025.

“The council’s mission to serve as a unified voice for R&D, STEM and innovation in New Jersey is reflected in the election results,” she said.  “We have incredible depth of STEM expertise and leadership represented in our new Executive Committee and I have no doubt that this leadership will sustain and advance the council’s work as it has for the past 60 years here in New Jersey, and beyond.”

Ruegger was one of four leaders announced. The others:

  • Virginie Maillard, Siemens head of technology field simulation and digital twin/U.S. region head: Reelected to serve as the council’s vice chair;
  • Ian Davies, Princeton University director, scientific relationships, catalysis initiative: Elected to serve as the council’s secretary from 2023-2026;
  • Jeff Stokes, Public Service Enterprise Group senior director – development, will remain in the role of treasurer through 2025, having been appointed to a three-year term in September 2022.

Anthony Cicatiello will continue to serve in his appointed role as council president. All will serve on the board’s Executive Committee.

R&D Gala

The Research & Development Council of New Jersey will hold its 44th Edison Patent Awards Ceremony & Reception on Nov. 15. For information, click here.

Avantor Performance Materials, Casabona Ventures, Lexicon Pharmaceuticals, Merck & Co., Montclair State University and Stockton University were all elected as organizations to serve on the council’s board of directors for three-year terms (2023-26).

The Research & Development Council of New Jersey, a nonprofit 501(c)(3) organization, works to collaborate among industry, academia and government to grow and strengthen science, technology, engineering and mathematics in education, innovation and the economy. Its membership includes representatives from academia, government and industry, including several Fortune 500 companies.