Integra LifeSciences announces leadership transition plan as CEO announces retirement

Integra LifeSciences Holdings CEO Jan De Witte this week said he plans to retire by the end of 2024. De Witte joined the Princeton-based medical technology firm in December 2021.

De Witte also informed the board that he will wait until a successor has been appointed.

Additionally, the company announced that Stuart Essig, Integra’s chairman, has been appointed to the role of executive chairman, effective immediately.

“We are grateful to Jan for his leadership and commitment to Integra and the role he has played in advancing our portfolio and building upon our legacy of innovation,” Essig said. “Jan’s personal decision to retire from Integra and return to Europe follows a leadership tenure marked by significant contributions to the company, including the evolution of our strategy and an expansion of core capabilities. We appreciate Jan’s commitment to a smooth transition and the execution of our roadmap for 2024 and beyond.”

The board has initiated a formal search for a new CEO and president and engaged Heidrick & Struggles to support the board in identifying a highly qualified candidate with a track record of industry-leading profitability and growth and the development of inspired, high-performing teams.

“I am incredibly proud of everything we have accomplished together here at Integra. I am grateful to both the board for their confidence and trust and the talented workforce at Integra for their ongoing passion and dedication to excellence as we endeavor to restore patients’ lives and set new standards of care. I believe strongly in Integra’s potential for future growth and success. In the meantime, we are squarely focused on delivering our objectives for 2024 through operational execution, particularly in our manufacturing and supply chain,” De Witte said.

As executive chairman, Essig will concentrate on driving improved shareholder value and ensuring an effective transition. Essig has been Integra’s non-executive chairman since 2012 and served as the company’s CEO from 1997 to 2012.